favorite
favorite
hide
unhide
flag

Posted

print

Free Room & Board for Household Helper / PT Nanny (Hardin County)

123456

available nov 11

furnished
house
w/d in unit
no smoking
off-street parking
private bath
private room

Free Room & Board for Household Helper / PT Nanny

Seeking a live-in helper! I have a home in the country. I work 60+ hour weeks, serve on the board of a non-profit, am a cancer patient, and am a single mom. I am looking for help with my home and elementary school-age kiddos. My current “household helper” / roommate is moving out of state after over 2 years with us. She is available for questions.

Duties include:
• Meeting school bus at 3:30 PM M-Th and 1:00 PM on Fridays (most important thing)
• Helping get the kids up and dressed for school some mornings
• Homework help, as needed – mostly just reading books
• Bed/bath routine (only on days when I get stuck at work)
• Laundry (daily M-F)
• Keeping the kids beds clean (sometimes sheets must be changed daily)
• Dishes (daily)
• Dog walking

I work from home most of the time and go to the office 1-2 days per week. On the days I have to go to the office, that’s when I need the most help with getting the kids up and dressed and on the bus in the mornings (bus comes at 6:45 AM). On those days, I do not make it home until about 7:00 PM, which means you will be on your own to meet the bus, help with homework, and make dinner. If I am going to be home later than that, I will let you know, and you will have to handle bath and bedtime routines as well.

Your primary hours are Mon-Thurs 3:30 PM – 8:00 PM (18 hours), Fridays 1:00 PM – 8:00 PM (7 hours), some school mornings from 6:15-6:45 AM (1-2 hours per week), and the time required to run laundry and help keep the kitchen clean.

I am USUALLY off work at 5:00 PM and have the kids from there, but when I’m in the office (in Louisville), it becomes a much later day. Plan for 8:00 PM but know that on most days, you can disappear after dinner. We eat dinner around 5:30 PM. ;)

What you get:
• Furnished private bedroom
• Private bathroom
• Electric, water, satellite television connection
• Food (as part of household groceries)
• Basic hygiene items

Negotiable:
• Phone
• Vehicle use
• Gym membership w/ year-round indoor pool; available after you’ve been with us for 90 days

Requirements:
• Must be able to pass background check conducted by the state
• Must have driver’s license
• Must like dogs
• Must be okay with stairs
• Bonus if you enjoy cooking or baking!

Restrictions:
• No couples
• No drugs
• No cigarettes

I have had horrible luck with cigarette smokers in the past. Even those who smoke outside, previously, have left cigarette butts on the ground and stacked in ashtrays outdoors. Wild animals and stray dogs get into the ash tray piles and scatter the butts everywhere. Cigarette butts end up all over the property, then my dogs try to eat the butts. VAPING IS OK, but please not around the kids.

Internet use is limited during daytime hours when I’m working from home. The DSL connection where we are is all that’s available and is slow during working hours if additional people are using the connection. Your internet usage will be limited during the day. If you are a college student or have a legitimate need (like working from home), more usage will be made available OR we can subscribe to a different plan for more usage.

During the weekdays, the kids are in school. During that time, I expect you to run laundry, but otherwise your days are free to do as you please. The house is quiet and peaceful. I am at home most days, but I am shut in my office, working, and disappear into my zone.

College students welcome, but you must be at home, waiting for the bus, by the time the bus arrives. (3:30 PM Mon – Thurs and 1:00 PM on Fridays)

Retirees and Disabled individuals are welcome as well.
• There is no physical labor beyond light house keeping, but there ARE stairs in the house. You must be able to navigate wide and narrow stairs. There are steps coming into the house and the house is two stories.
• Heavy lifting is not expected or required.
• Stretching is to be expected. The kids have bunk beds and they require stretching arms over your head and across in front of your body to put sheets on the beds. If you have limited mobility in your arms/upper body, or have trouble bending or stooping, this may be a difficult position for you.

Single moms with one young child are welcome as well, though there is only one bedroom available. The room is large and can accommodate a small child with their parent.

A caged pet is negotiable. We have 2 dogs, 2 rabbits & 2 turtles. Your only responsibility for the animals is taking the dogs out to potty every couple of hours on workdays or when you’re the only one at home. Sorry, NO CATS.

You MUST be able to pass a state criminal background check. We have plans to become a foster family and anyone in my home must have a clean record and pass the screening requirements for the state of Kentucky. This means no felony or misdemeanor convictions of child, elder, or sexual abuse, no record of violent crimes, and no convictions of animal abuse. I do not believe the state disqualifies individuals for drug possession convictions, but trafficking disqualifies you. If you have a criminal background, feel free to discuss it with me.

In the event we become a foster family, you will be given a portion of the monthly foster stipend for helping to care for the foster children.

Absolutely NO hard drug use. Anything other than CBD oil or medicinal cannabis use will NOT be tolerated.

First 30 days is trial period. We will put a written agreement into place to protect all parties. In the event you do not work out in our home, you will be provided a 14-day notice.

We go on a lot of adventures! We go to festivals and events almost every weekend. We get passes for Kentucky Kingdom. We go to science centers and zoos and parks. We travel. We frequent the pool. All of these things are things you will have the option of taking part in! After 90 days, you will be able to be added to our gym membership, which includes a year-round indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, workout classes, bball courts, running tracks, and so much more, plus an olympic pool outside during the summer months. You will also be given a season pass for Kentucky Kingdom next summer, and have the option of travelling with us.

Room will be ready in mid-November.
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 7003859654

posted:

best of [?]